Worlds of Wonder Author Hop, Day 7: Interview With A Reader

Hi again, and welcome to the next First Cause contribution to the Worlds of Wonder. In today’s stop, we’re going to interview one of our readers! Enjoy.

1. Have you got a favorite genre? If so, why?

My favorite genre is paranormal/supernatural fiction. The reason is a little personal, but it has to do with the strength of the bonds between the two lead characters, which usually end up as a couple. The bond between these two characters isn’t realistic, but I’d really like to experience a bond like that anyway.

2. What makes you interested in First Cause?

I actually just learned about First Cause and I can say that I’m very intrigued by the story. It has an almost Fringe-like feel that leaves me wondering what could possibly be behind everything. That kind of story is addictive!

3. How important is covert art in influencing your decision to read a book?

Cover art is very important when I’m deciding to read a book. The first books I look at are the books that I like the covers for, then I look at the story. I know they say not to judge a book by its cover, but everything needs a pretty package to gain a persons attention. It’s like when you’re shopping in the store for something: Aren’t you more likely to buy something that’s appealing to your eye?

4. How quickly do you generally read a novel?

Reading duration depends on what other things I have going on. If I’m participating in a reading challenge or a read-a-thon, I usually read a book within a day or two. If I’m just reading for my personal enjoyment and not an event, I take my time and finish when I get to the end of the book. That can take anywhere from two days to a week or two, depending on how big the book is.

5. Tell me a few of your favorite authors or books, and why they are favorites.

One of my favorite authors is Stephenie Meyer. If I hadn’t read The Twilight Saga, I wouldn’t be where I am today in the book community. Reading that series refueled my love of reading. I’m a huge Cassandra Clare fan. There is just something magical about her Shadowhunter Chronicles that enchants me. I’m always looking forward to her next book in the Chronicles. Then there is Jennifer L. Armentrout. I was always wondering about the hype behind her and her books, the Lux series in particular. I understood what everyone was talking about when I read Obsidian. She combines laugh-out-loud humor and steaming romance to create a science fiction story that I don’t want to end.

6. If you will, take a moment to read either Chapter One (here on the website) or this weekend’s excerpt. What do you think?

I read Chapter One of First Cause and I really want to continue! This first chapter alone had me holding my breath and had my eyes popping. And stopping at Chapter One leaves you with a big cliffhanger! Like I said in my answer to question two, this is the kind of story that is addictive.

7. Have you got any questions for me, based on what you’ve read in my contribution to this week’s Author Hop? I’ll reply below.

There are a lot of people who believe that something like the events in your book, First Cause, could really happen. Is there any belief on your part that something like the events in your book can happen in real life? Or is it purely fictional?

PW’s answer: My intention was to make the events of the book plausible, in a human context, because the story is essentially about the human condition. Interstellar travel (and a few other aspects of Luceri technology that might come to light) is the only part of the story that is, as yet, not considered possible; even so, the way the Luceri achieved it was rendered based on actual human history and a moderate extension of patterns and technological leaps that have already occurred. There’s a lot of precedent in human history for extreme quantum leaps in technological capability, especially in the past two centuries, and history in this sense (and others) is accelerating. This is both extremely hopeful and extremely dangerous, in my opinion (hence my opening one of my chapters with the H.G. Wells quote, “human history is more and more a race between education and catastrophe”)…with First Cause, I try to look at the good and bad possibilities of humankind. I guess that’s why I call it historical futurism! Hopefully you find it realistic enough to be compelling 🙂

 

Cover of First Cause: A Novel About Human Possibility

Cover of First Cause

Thanks for reading! I’ve had lots of fun being part of the Worlds of Wonder Author Hop, and I hope you’ve enjoyed learning more about First Cause. Thanks to the reader who participated in today’s Q&A, as well 🙂

To learn more about the Hop, click the link below:

http://www.fmbpromotions.com/2012/12/worlds-of-wonder-author-hop-giveaway.html

About Paul West

Paul West offers thoughtful analysis of on-field and off-field sports topics via PDub's sports Hub, and for years was a core staff writer for Through The Fence Baseball. A recurrent guest on Fox Sports Radio New Mexico, Paul is available for radio and other media appearances. To follow Paul on @firstcausenyc on Twitter, visit http://twitter.com/firstcausenyc View all posts by Paul West

One response to “Worlds of Wonder Author Hop, Day 7: Interview With A Reader

Leave a Reply

