Worlds of Wonder Author Hop, Day 2: Interview With Author Paul West

Hi, and welcome to my next stop on this week’s Worlds of Wonder Author Hop! I hope you enjoy your stop here; please check below for the other stops on the Hop.

Q&A with Author Paul West

Paul West reading at Swift Hibernian Lounge NYC

Paul West reading at Swift Hibernian Lounge NYC

Can you tell us a little bit about First Cause?

Well, it starts off, literally, with a bang; then it switches to flashback mode for a bit, and levels off as the plot lines merge. I’ve been told that it’s ‘thought provoking’ and ‘a page turner,’ and I suppose I could do much worse than that! I call it historical futurism, because it’s got a speculative/futuristic premise but it draws heavily on actual history and has a long backstory.

Why this genre?

I think speculative fiction/science fiction holds great potential for exploring the human personality and the human condition. In one of my blog posts, “The Virtues of Speculation,” I discuss the fact that speculative fiction includes some of the most progressive, thoughtful and content-driven fiction of the past century. It’s not the only genre I read, write or watch, but I do believe it’s a potent genre. For that matter, I think “genre” is overrated in the first place!

What was the inspiration for First Cause? Who or what influenced your writing once you began?

The funny thing is that my novel, though it can loosely be described as science fiction, was heavily inspired by studying history and observing people in the real world. For me, First Cause was an avenue of exploration and comparison; my aim was to examine how we got here, where we might go, and how we could be different, and the story was designed as something of an allegory—a vehicle for that exploration. A lot of my favorite art—music, movies or books—is meant to inspire thought, introspection or re-examination; so really, First Cause was also partly inspired by some of my favorite albums and movies as much as it was by any bit of fiction. It actually began as a screenplay idea.

Is just a stand-alone novel, or is there a follow-up?

Not only is there a follow up book, there are two! First Cause: Homecoming, the second part of the Terranaut Trilogy, is currently in the works; I’m hoping it will be completed in 2013.

Are you reading anything interesting at the moment? If so, what is it?

I’m currently reading a book called Look Me In The Eye, an autobiographical account of growing up with undiagnosed Aspberger’s. I’m about a third of the way through it, and it’s really interesting so far.

Can you tell us some of your latest news?

I’m trying to branch out in my freelance writing career! You can find my freelance site at http://paulwestwrites.wordpress.com; I specialize in copywriting, ghostwriting and SEO, but I’ve got range beyond those three things. I’ve also been sports blogging, which has been a lot of fun. I’m writing articles for Through The Fence Baseball and Tarnation Sports.The links to my sports writing are below:

http://throughthefencebaseball.com/author/paul-west/

http://www.tarnationsports.com/author/paul-west/

Where do you see yourself at in five years, related to your writing?

Hopefully having finished the trilogy, and further along as a sportswriter—perhaps also a journalist! For now, though, I’m getting my gears rolling fleshing out the ‘First Cause universe,’ and that will be fun and pretty challenging. I want to continue to figure out how to allow my writing strengths to flourish, while getting better at the things at which I’d like to improve.

Where can we purchase First Cause?

First Cause is available as an ebook pretty much everywhere ebooks are sold! You can buy it on Smashwords here, for your Barnes & Noble Nook here, and for your Amazon Kindle here. You can also pick up the paperback in a few independent bookstores, and on Amazon.com here. If you’re not sure if your local bookstore carries First Cause, ask for it! And thank you for reading!

Cover of First Cause: A Novel About Human Possibility

Cover of First Cause

Thanks for reading! For more stops on the Worlds of Wonder Author Hop, click the link below:

http://www.fmbpromotions.com/2012/12/worlds-of-wonder-author-hop-giveaway.html

About Paul West

Paul West offers thoughtful analysis of on-field and off-field sports topics via PDub's sports Hub, and for years was a core staff writer for Through The Fence Baseball. A recurrent guest on Fox Sports Radio New Mexico, Paul is available for radio and other media appearances. To follow Paul on @firstcausenyc on Twitter, visit http://twitter.com/firstcausenyc View all posts by Paul West

3 responses to “Worlds of Wonder Author Hop, Day 2: Interview With Author Paul West

Leave a Reply

