Just for the record…Margaret Atwood is the sh-t

Cover of First Cause: A Novel About Human Possibility

Cover of First Cause

This interview has been, and remains, one of my favorites. Every time I contradict, or fall short of, my ‘be the change you wish to see in the world’ (Gandhi) ideals, I think of ish like this. I don’t believe in role models, for more reasons than I can list here, but Atwood is on the short list of ‘people I wouldn’t mind being when I grow up’. If you have any concern for the human condition, read this. I read it from time to time to remind myself of the fact that, as a product of all this crap, I still mostly ain’t sh-t and have to remind myself, and be reminded, to keep myself honest. Ms. Atwood is one of the truest and rarest blessings to the world of ‘literature’, speculative or otherwise, in the past century…

http://www.randomhouse.com/resources/bookgroup/handmaidstale_bgc.html#

About Paul West

Paul West offers thoughtful analysis of on-field and off-field sports topics via PDub's sports Hub, and for years was a core staff writer for Through The Fence Baseball. A recurrent guest on Fox Sports Radio New Mexico, Paul is available for radio and other media appearances. To follow Paul on @firstcausenyc on Twitter, visit http://twitter.com/firstcausenyc View all posts by Paul West

Leave a Reply

